Yesterday I spent the day in DC and College Park. In DC I bought some shiny new (to me) bass guitar amplification equipment–a Kustom K-200 head and two Ampeg cabinets, an SVT-410HE and an SVT-15E.

Then at College Park I spent five hours going through back issues of the various journals in my field, reading articles on eighteenth-century poetry and reviews of recent monographs in addition to books received lists on the same subject, taking notes all the while for the Big New Project. It was very humbling, to say the least. It’s just staggering how much there is to know about everything.

And it was also somewhat perplexing, to get empirical proof of just how little poetry is studied these days–or drama either, for that matter–by way of comparison with other subjects. And yet, there’s the paradox that even with such diminished attention, there’s still plenty of new developments to keep up with. I’m not sure what to say about that, except to note that academics are very good at slicing up things into smaller and smaller pieces while paying them more and more attention.

