Okay, so everyone’s been citing this article in a gigantic backlash against the abuse of PowerPoint. I’m not going there, even though I agree that the abuse is bad and I have student presentations starting on Wednesday where I’ll be fortunate indeed if I don’t have to sit through any number of people reading straight off the slide.

Instead, I’m going to call your attention to the wonderful pun in General McMaster’s money quote:

“It’s dangerous because it can create the illusion of understanding and the illusion of control,” General McMaster said in a telephone interview afterward. “Some problems in the world are not bullet-izable.”

It has to be significant for a career Army officer to admit defeat in the face of a problem bullets can’t solve. We may well have found an authoritative source for all future anti-PowerPoint diatribes.

