Sometimes you read a blog post that you wish you’d written. Emerson puts it more poetically: “In every work of genius we recognize our own rejected thoughts: they come back to us with a certain alienated majesty.” Except that I didn’t reject these thoughts, I just never bothered to put them into so many words. (Only the occasional rant. Let this be a warning to anyone who gets invited over for dinner.)

Anyway, check this out: the editor of a poetry journal speaks out against one trend in contemporary poetry:

Here’s what I’d like to see more of in submissions: IDEAS. Why don’t poems have more ideas? So many poems I read are essentially just descriptions. So you went outside. It was beautiful. Or not. I don’t care how creatively you describe it, if it didn’t trigger any thoughts beyond “Hells yeah I am going to describe this,” it’s not a poem. It’s just showing off to yourself, or as Matt Rass used to say, “masturbating to language.” Ha. I love that phrase. Anyway: ideas.

Hells yeah I am going to agree with this.

