Or, I might subtitle this one “things the US News rankings don’t tell you about a school.”

I watched my friend and colleague Greg Jones win on Jeopardy last Wednesday. Unfortunately on Thursday night’s show he was a little behind going into the final round, bet it all (save $1) and answered correctly, but lost when the front runner also got the question right and bet just enough to beat him. Still, $23k and change for an hour’s time ain’t too shabby.

His hometown shout-out can be seen at this site. The pony swim he mentions is relatively famous, enough to have a children’s novel based on it and to appear on Good Morning America every year. Did I know this about the area before I moved here? Of course not. Libraries are helpful things, but they only yield information to the person who knows where to look.

